Dainty Goes to Dublin

I'm tiny and sitting on my own shoulder. It's all gone a bit Through the Looking Glass here at DiDM.

I’m tiny and sitting on my own shoulder. It’s all gone a bit Through the Looking Glass here at DiDM.

Hello to you, Dainty Darlings! Lovely to have your eyes on my words again. Spoiler: this is a fatbabe and travel packed post. Scroll further down for some fatshion ❤

If you’ve read my bio, you may have seen that I’m taking a year off from my PhD in philosophy. Part of this change in my life will involve getting away and starting afresh somewhere new, and for no particular reason I’ve picked Dublin! I went to visit Tara in order to check the place out, and promptly fell in love with it.

635576398140804578

Learning that the cathedral behind me has people buried in the walls.

This was also the first trip I have ever, at the grand old age of 25, organised and executed all on my own. I hate flying more than anything in the whole world, but I managed it, and after being in a funk and feeling like an overgrown 15-year-old for ten years I finally began to feel as if I could do things on my own without screwing up. It’s a big deal, I assure you.

On the first day Tara (the talented miss O Brien) took me to Kilmainham Gaol, where we learned a tonne about Irish history, and we went to the museum right next to the Irish parliament where Tara showed me that the Irish are THE COOLEST PEOPLE (gold hoards for daaayyyysss).

On the second day we went to the Leprechaun Museum. Yes, you heard right. And it was fabulous. Check us out walking through rainbows and sitting on a giant’s furniture!

Fat babes doing things!

Fat babes doing things! (Click for The Big Picture)


FATSHION UPDATE:

It turns out Dublin has a Forever 21, so I bought everything.

WP_20150117_13_05_20_ProI’ve wanted a pair of trousers like this FOREVER. I bought these in a 3X. I loved the fit, the pattern, and the fabric. They were very quirky and relaxed but also smart enough to be suitable for work. Or so I thought, until I wore them for a day, and the seam on the inside leg tore like wet paper. The fabric has zero stretch to it, so is NOT conducive to movement. Of any kind. Major thumbs down, F21.

WP_20150117_12_59_13_Pro

I bought the first bikini I’ve had since I was six (obviously this is me wearing just the top part). And the first swimming apparatus that I’ve had for at least five years! It’s incredible, but the best part is…..

#unapologeticfatty

#unapologeticfatty

The back! It’s so cool! And actually makes a lot of sense, strap-wise, because if you have a bigger bust it provides a lot more support. As yet to test it out, but I can’t foresee any problems. Again, I bought the top and a pair of plain black bottoms in a 3X.

WP_20150117_13_07_56_ProAnd I bought all of the velvet goods. FYI to the Chub Rub Club: velvet leggings are the answer to our prayers.

Tara took me to my First Ever Drag Show that night. It was explosive! I loved The Dragon (best gay bar I’ve ever been to) – the atmosphere was effervescent and the performances were powerful. I only got about two hours sleep before I had to get on a plane again, but the experience was worth the exhaustion.

WP_20150118_00_12_04_Pro

So the message for this post is twofold: push yourself to do new things – getting out of your comfort zone is terrifying, but doubly rewarding, and… Go to Dublin.

635576398081831137I love you all endlessly, and remember to love yourselves just as much! ❤

Chrissy x

Leave a comment